Thursday, December 30, 2010

Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author

Ian McEwan was awardeed the Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award, an annual award given by the Tulsa Library Trust. Its purpose is to give formal recognition, on behalf of the Tulsa County community, to internationally acclaimed authors who have written a distinguished body of work and made a major contribution to the field of literature and letters. Past award winners include Joyce Carol Oates (2002), Margaret Atwood (1999), E.L. Doctorow (1998), Neil Simon (1996), David McCullough (1995), Ray Bradbury (1994), Peter Matthiessen (1993), Norman Mailer (1992), Eudora Welty (1991), John le Carré (1990), Saul Bellow (1989), Toni Morrison (1988), and John Updike (1987).